Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

10S

10 Sentences is a novel with 10 sentences (possibly more depending on how the muses call the shots) per chapter, each dedicated to the point of view of the two characters. It revolves around the perspective of Dorian and Dmitri who forge and unlikely kind of friendship.

Edit: Corrected errors and fixed coherency

Chapter 2: Dmitri

The only time I feel calm is whenever I’m in the kitchen. It doesn’t matter if I’m making Beef Wellington from scratch or pudding for my sisters and brother; cooking is my zen and the recipe is my mantra.

As I looked up from the cream cheese frosting I was making, I caught him staring at me again. Today he’s wearing a fatigue jacket; most probably pilfered from his parents’ closet. Irregardless, this guy is clearly proud of his parents as he would often light up when they’re the topic of a conversation and that he would always have military patches and stickers all over his stuff. I heard they were both ex-Marines and were dismissed because of certain things. I didn’t bother finding out because it’s their life and who am I to gossip on something personal. But all I know is that one of them is now working as neurosurgeon while the other became a businessman; and that this guy is one of their adopted children.

He’s looking at me again. My locker neighbor, Dorian Tizona.

